Boston OUI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Free Consultations 617.925.6772
Reputable & Experienced OUI Attorney Who Will Relentlessly Fight On Your Behalf

What Are The Penalties For DUI in Boston?

Massachusetts DUI Laws

Alcohol and car keys - MA OUI Penalties

In Massachusetts, you are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle in public if:

  • You blood alcohol level (BAC) is greater than %.08
  • You are under the influence of marijuana, narcotics, intoxicating vapors, or other drugs.

There is no set penalty for an OUI. The nature of the offense determines the severity and nature of the punishment. However, all DUI convictions lead to a Registry of Motor Vehicles license suspension. Many cases also result in jail time and hefty fines.

At Jack Diamond Law Offices, we want to help you avoid the inconvenient, costly, and difficult consequences of a DUI conviction. You can contact us today for a free consultation. If we represent you, we will fight aggressively to defend your reputation, your license, and your freedom.

Facing OUI charges? Give us a call at (617) 925-6772 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation. We are available 24/7.

Penalties for a First OUI Offense

If you are facing your first DUI charge, be encouraged that your penalties will not be as severe as those for a repeat offender.

Some common sentences for a first OUI include:

  • Up to 2.5 years in a House of Correction
  • A fine with a minimum of $500 and a maximum of $5,000.
  • License suspension for up to one year
  • Probation with the completion of an alcohol education program paid for by the defendant

All of these MA OUI penalties are generally negotiable. Even if you are proven guilty, your defending attorney may suggest a lighter sentence. If you accept a plea bargain in your case, you may also merit a lesser penalty.

Consequences get harsher depending on your BAC level and the number of times you have been convicted of a DUI. Massachusetts also has a "lifetime lookback" law which means that your previous OUI convictions will never disappear from your record. They will always be taken into consideration for new convictions.


The legal drinking age in Massachusetts is 21. Drivers younger than that typically face harsher MA OUI penalties. All of these laws are outlined in the Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90 Section 24.

The greatest difference between adult DUIs and under 21 DUIs is the length of license suspension. An underage driver will receive a minimum 180-day suspension, with a maximum of 390 days.

What are the penalties for OUI in Massachusetts?

In the state of Massachusetts, penalties for OUI are determined based on the circumstances surrounding the case and if you have had prior OUI convictions.

Possible penalties for OUI in Massachusetts include:

  • First Offense – up to 2.5 years in jail, $500 to $5,000 in fines, and one-year license revocation
  • Second Offense – 60 days up to 2.5 years in jail, $600 to $10,000 in fines, and 2-years license revocation
  • Third Offense – 180 days up to 2.5 years in jail or 2.5 to 5 years in prison, $1,000 to $15,000 in fines, and 8-years license revocation

Whenever you are facing an OUI, you need experienced, aggressive representation. Call (617) 925-6772 right now for a free consultation today.

We also serve Hingham, Quincy, and Plymouth.