Boston OUI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Free Consultations 617.925.6772
Reputable & Experienced OUI Attorney Who Will Relentlessly Fight On Your Behalf

Boston First Offense OUI Attorney

Helping You Fight A First Offense OUI in MA

If this is your first DUI, you probably feel nervous about the future. At Jack Diamond Law Offices, we are here to help you understand the consequences you may be facing and how to best utilize your legal options. We have been in the legal sphere for more than 20 years, and we understand the ins and outs of criminal law. Attorney Jack Diamond has worked as a prosecutor from 1990 – 1994, giving him a professional perspective from both sides of the legal system.

When it comes to a first offense OUI, don’t handle the logistics on your own. Instead, call our firm at (617) 925-6772 for a free initial consultation.

Alcohol and car keys - OUI first offense Massachusetts

What are the Penalties for a First Offense OUI in Massachusetts?

Under Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90, § 24, there are a number of fees and penalties that you will be responsible for a first offense OUI (operating under the influence) charge in Massachusetts. Possible penalties can include license suspension, fines and jail time.

Most first offense OUI penalties in Massachusetts may result in:

  • Up to 2.5 years in the House of Correction
  • Fines that range from $500 to $5,000
  • Driver alcohol education program
  • One year of driver's license suspension

Thankfully, a first DUI does not indicate a pattern of offenses. This means that the court will naturally respond with lighter punishments. Some of these penalties may be adjusted if you receive the Alternative Disposition for your conviction that is laid out in Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90, § 24D. Additionally, in some cases, Jack Diamond Law Offices may be able to secure probation for a client in conjunction with an alcohol education class. The guilty party will need to pay for the class out-of-pocket.

Do I Need a Lawyer For My First DUI in massachusetts?

If you have just been arrested for your first DUI, it is important to take the process seriously and contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer. Obviously, no one wants to get a DUI, but having a lawyer on your side can dramatically reduce the consequences of a conviction.

An experienced attorney who specializes in driving under the influence can make all the difference in making sure you receive fair treatment within the criminal justice system and that you are fully informed of your rights throughout each stage of your case.

A dui lawyer at Jack Diamond Law Offices will also be able to analyze police reports and procedures and provide valuable advice about plea bargaining or taking the case to trial. Your highest priority should be obtaining legal assistance from an experienced attorney, as your decision could have long-term implications that impact both your civil liberties and future privilege to drive.

How Likely Is Jail Time for a First DUI/OUI?

If you've been arrested for a first-time DUI in the Boston area, jail time is not a common penalty, as we have mentioned above. Generally, first-time offenders are given more lenient sentences such as Alternative Disposition, community service, fines, and/or ignition interlock device (IID) installation.

However, if your BAC (blood alcohol content) was particularly high or if you caused an accident while driving under the influence, jail time could be imposed at the discretion of a judge. Additionally, if someone was injured as a result of your DUI offense, even tougher penalties can be expected, especially if the victim suffered a serious bodily injury.

Remember, every case is unique and no one can predict the exact outcome of any given scenario. However, if you take the necessary steps and understand what could potentially happen in court, then you'll feel better prepared for whatever comes next. Taking action now rather than later could save you time and money in the long run. It's important to seek experienced legal guidance as soon as possible after being arrested for DUI so that you can have the best chance of obtaining a favorable outcome.

Will I Lose My License?

If you are convicted of a DUI, you will need to relinquish your license for a minimum period of 45 days, with most license suspension penalties capped at 90 days. Not being able to drive may affect your ability to attend work, school, perform necessary errands, or make important appointments. For these cases, the court will allow you to apply for a school or work hardship consideration three months into your license suspension.

If you are still restricted from driving after six months, you can request a general hardship consideration. When it comes time to reinstate your license, you will need to pay a $500 fee to the Registry of Motor Vehicles.

Walking Clients Through Every Step of the Process

If we choose to take on your case, we will stand by you as you work through your DUI charge. Check out our five-star ratings to see what others are saying about the Jack Diamond Law Offices. We also have offices located in Quincy, Plymouth, and Hingham.

Facing charges for a first offense OUI in Massachusetts? Call our Boston OUI Lawyer at (617) 925-6772 or contact us online right now. We are available 24/7.